Under 20 & Under 17 YDL, 27 July

Cheltenham Harriers under 20 and under 17 team finished fifth overall in the Midland Premier 2 Division of the Youth Development League after the final match held at Plymouth. For the U17 men Imran Qureshi again excelled as he won both the 100 metres hurdles and long jump. At U17 level the sprints were covered well, with Ben Roberts clinching third in the 200 metres A string and Tyler Tait producing a fine run to take third in the B string. One of the highlights came in the 4×100 metres relay as the team showed slick baton passing to take third in a close photo finish, with only two hundredths of a second separated the first three teams. In the high jump Nathaniel Hatherley scored a personal best as he jumped 1.55 metres. In the U20 age group Linton Gardiner recorded some notable performances on the day. At 400 metres he won a tight race in 51.64s and followed up with a win in the discus where threw very close to his best ever. In the high jump Gardiner again won the A string event, with Will Sage taking the B string top spot. Sage also claimed third place in the U20 javelin. Simon Fraser stepped up to the U20 age group for the long jump and was rewarded with a new personal best of 5.58 metres.

The women also came up with some notable performances. In the hurdles races the Harriers saw success in both events at U20 level. English Schools Champion Mollie Courtney had an emphatic win in the 100m hurdles, whilst Megan Bishop did likewise in the 400m hurdles. Courtney went on to secure second in the U20 high jump. As always Mel Bird earned a hatful of points, starting with a win in the U17 discus followed by second in the shot putt and fourth in the hammer.Also in the U17 age group Claudia Ovens got the match off to a fine start as she took second in the 300 metres hurdles, followed by a win in the 300 metres flat race. At 800 metres Ellie Hathaway set a new personal best in taking third place and then finished second in the 1500 metres steeplechase. In the longest track event Emma Meecham- Jones took second place